Thursday, 31 May 2018

Travel - Punta Cana Dominican Republic

Good Morning Loves


So I'm just going to jump straight into this blog post because it's going to be a long one..... Grab a snack and a coffee just in case x 

On Sunday April 15th we flew to the Dominican Republic with Delta. Our flight was at 11am and we arrived to the airport at about 8:30 because we had booked ourselves into the 51st and Green lounge (If you follow me on Instagram you would have seen that we didn't really enjoy it, this was our second visit and we wont be doing it again which is disappointing) but that's another story.


We boarded our flight at about 10:15 and took our seats. We hadn't been sitting long (I'll spare you all the gross details but.....) a lady threw up EVERYWHERE, all over my hubby and 2 other people, the poor pet was mortified but moving along swiftly. The Delta flight crew were amazing and they couldn't have done more to help, the mess was cleaned up and sanitised quickly, everyone had changed clothes and we were ready to go (my hubby got extra air miles and I got a bottle of wine). The flight was 8 1/2 hours to Atlanta where we had a layover of approx 2 hours before our flight to the Dominican Republic. We did a bit of shopping and grabbed some food before hopping on our second flight of the day down to the DR. We arrived into Punta Cana airport and we were through passport control and baggage collect in about 15 minutes (note: those of you travelling to the DR will have to pay $10 per person to enter the country, its for a tourist visa card) If you have never been to the likes of the Dominican republic or Mexico etc. you will get bombarded by taxi drivers/bus drivers looking to transport you to your hotel and it can be a bit overwhelming but luckily we had booked our private transfer with our holiday package so we went straight to our collection point.

We were greeted by a lovely man who organised someone to take us to the resort, we only waited about 5 minutes. The journey from the Airport to the Resort took about 45 Minutes and let me tell you, they are extremely confident drivers in the DR, borderline on being a bit crazy..... We arrived to our resort where we were greeted by security who checked us in and we were dropped off. Guys I cant tell you how AMAZING the staff are, they couldn't do enough for you. 










The Reception Area was a little dark but absolutely gorgeous. 

We were greeted by a man called Manny who gave us champagne and an ice cold towel, took our bags, helped us get checked in and walked us to our room while explaining where everything was and how to get to the restaurants and bars. We upgraded our room when we were booking to a swim up suite and it was WORTH EVERY PENNY!!! The room was absolutely gorgeous. We had a giant bed, a seating area, hot tub, walk in wardrobe, safe, toiletries, coffee machine with coffee, creamers, sugar etc. We also had a minibar that was restocked every day that housekeeping came in to make up the room.


Our mini bar had beer, coke, fanta, sprite, orange juice, water, mini oreos, nuts and crackers and it was restocked every day (or you could ring reception and have it restocked if you needed anything) 

Our room was divine and I could have lived there forever!













The best thing about our room was the swim up option with your own decking....


This pic is from inside the room


This pic is from just across the pool

It was about 10pm when we got settled and I was absolutely starving so we went to the sports bar for food (we only ended up drinking) 


We met Felix who was amazing and kept the drinks flowing, It was all inclusive so you can drink as much as you want but I was tired and hungry so we decided to go back to the room and order room service. The room service is 24hours and it has different menus for different times of the day. We decided to order pizza, chicken strips and fries, all were really good as far as room service goes and we decided to call it a night. 

The following morning I woke at about 5am, the jet lag hit and I couldn't sleep anymore so I got up and watched the sunrise. When my hubby got up at about 8am we hit the gym, after 12 hours of travelling and eating junk I needed a quick workout before I get into a swimsuit :D. The gym facilities were gorgeous, it wasn't an overly big gym but it had what we needed. We finished our workout and went to the buffet for breakfast. The buffet had EVERYTHING... I didn't take many photos but you could literally eat whatever you wanted. It was called The Kitchen Table.



We were greeted by the hosts and seated, we were introduced to our server, his name was Emilio and if you follow me on insta you'll know that we absolutely loved him, he was a sweetheart. We ate breakfast at the buffet every day that we were there and you really are spoiled for choice. They had breads, pastries, cereal, fruit, yogurt, nuts, seafood, sausages, beans, bacon, pancakes, waffles with loads of syrups, a Mexican corner with different potatoes and egg dishes, a fresh omlete station, porridge...... You name it they had it and it all changed again for lunch where you had a different choice of foods and the omlete station changed to a stir fry station and we were in our element. 

We literally did NOTHING for the entire time that we were there apart from eat, drink, go to the gym and relax. The resort has everything so you really don't need to leave if you don't want to. There is an itinerary set up every day with different activities. The activities started at approx 9am I think and went on right through to the shows that they had every night. 


This noticeboard changed every day with the activities and shows that were on.

This Resort has 12 restaurants so regardless of your preferences you wont be disappointed with the food options.

We ate at 4 of the restaurants in the Pavilion


Agave - This is a Mexican themed restaurant and the food was really good


Spice - This is an Asian themed restaurant, we ate here twice, once for the Hibachi Grill and another time in the main restaurant. We loved the Hibachi although we didn't eat the starter or the dessert we loved the main course and when we ate there a second time it was just OK.


Basmati - This is an Indian themed restaurant and the food was really really good, the portions are small but it was really tasty.


The Grill - Probably one of my favourites. This is an American/European style restaurant and the food was amazing.

The restaurants that we didn't eat at were:

Chez Isabelle 


This is a French themed restaurant

The Flavour Market


This one is a Spanish themed restaurant.

The resort also has 2 restaurants over the main pool over looking the beach, Oregano and The lobster house. We ate at both and the food was really tasty.


Oregano was on the right and the Lobster House was on the left

Another restaurant that we didn't get a chance to eat at was Las Olas. A buffet style restaurant right on the beach, it looked and smelled amazing but we didn't really venture down that way much.


Las Olas

The other two places that served food were The Sports Bar - The food here was sooooooooo good that we ate here about 3-4 times. They serve pizza, burgers, chicken tenders, fries, onion rings etc. and it was all amazing.

Another little gem was The Shark Food Truck



This Little food truck opened from 6pm-12pm and served Nachos, Tacos, Burgers, Hot Dogs, Popcorn and French Fries so you were never stuck for a snack.

One of my favourite places in this entire resort was the coffee shop. If you are a coffee addict like me then this place was like a little slice of heaven.

The Coffee Shop




They had about 12 different flavours of ice cream to choose from and you could have it in a cone or a tub


You could add sprinkles and syrup


Every day they had freshly baked cupcakes, muffins, macaroons, biscuits and pastries


(These ones reminded me of Maleficent) 

Are you all still with me?? I'm trying to cram as much information into this post as possible, I honestly cannot say enough good things about this Resort. On the Monday of the week that we were leaving we decided to attend the White Party. Its a buffet style dinner held in the centre of the resort and we had an amazing night. We met so many lovely people, ate great food, drank (alot) went to the piano bar for the live band and then went to the nightclub. It was by far the most fun we had on this trip. 





We met the most amazing people


The idea is that everyone wears white and the whole setup is done in white decorations but its not necessary to wear white. 

I could literally go on and on about this place and how spectacular it was. We booked online through Expedia.ie and we booked the Flights, accommodation (with the upgraded room) and the transfers to the resort together as a package. I'll post a few pics of the resort and then I will call it a day because I think this post is long enough. If you have any questions feel free to ask away xxx 












Have an amazing day xx 

Lots of love 

Kim xoxo 




























No comments:

Post a Comment